Skip to content

UCT Ecology & Evolution Requirements

The requirements for undertaking the University of Cape Town (UCT) Ecology & Evolution.

The Department of Biological Sciences at UCT was established in 2013 as a result of a merger between the long standing Botany and Zoology Departments. The department has a large academic staff compliment, a large group of research associates, and a vibrant group of postdoctoral fellows and postgraduate students. The Department houses the Bolus Herbarium, the FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology (a DST-NRF Centre of Excellence), and three formal URC research units – the Plant Conservation Unit (PCU), the Animal Demography Unit (ADU) and the Institute for Communities and Wildlife in Africa (iCWild), as well as hosting the Marine Research Institute (Ma-Re). Research strengths range from marine biology, conservation biology, biodiversity, ecology, evolutionary biology, ornithology, palaeobiology, physiology and systematics. The Department hosts the DST-NRF South African Research Chair in Marine Ecology & Fisheries. (SARCHI ME&F).

Your next move

UCT offers many programmes. If you do not meet up to the requirements of this programme you can consider another programme on the list. Go to >> University of Cape Town Faculties/Programmes.

However, if you meet the requirements and wish to apply to study this course. You can simply check the application processes.

SEE ALSO:  UCT Bachelor of Music: Musicology Requirements

Leave a Reply